

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE



30th November 2013

Victorian's Dominate Heats of the Brisbane Cup

Balliang trainer Mark Delbridge gets another opportunity to crack his first Group 1 in Thursday night's Brisbane Cup (520m) at Albion Park.

Delbridge's star Tomac Bale, fresh from winning a Group Listed sprint race at Sandown on Melbourne Cup night, was one of four gun Victorian greyhounds that will fill half the field in the Brisbane Cup after clocking the sensational time of 29.63sec.

Farmor Las Vegas (Robert Britton), Kiss Me Ketut (David Burnett) and Xylia Allen (Jenny Hunt) are the other Victorian-trained greyhounds that will compete for the \$75,000 first prize after winning their heats Thursday night.

The locals will be cheering for Hawko's Mistake and Captain Clarrie while New South Wales top class sprinter Battistuzzi was an impressive heat winner in 29.77.

A total of six heats were run, with the fastest being Tomac Bale (29.63sec), followed by Battistuzzi (29.77sec), Xylia Allen (29.81sec), Farmor Las Vegas (29.85sec), Kiss Me Ketut (29.95sec) & Captain Clarrie (30.11sec). The two fastest placed seconds were - Top Story and Hawko's Mistake - also made it through to the final.

Continued on Page 2...

GROUP ONE – SKY RACING BRISBANE CUP \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and local Market for the Sky Racing Brisbane Cup:

\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Sky Racing Brisbane Cup 520						
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	H/T		
1	Top Story	Sandra Hunt	\$12	R/U		
2	Tomac Bale	Mark Delbridge (VIC)	\$3	29.63		
3	Battistuzzi	Frank Hancock (NSW)	\$7	29.77		
4	Hawko's Mistake	John Edwards	\$33	R/U		
5	Farmor Las Vegas	Robert Britton (VIC)	\$6	29.85		
6	Kiss Me Ketut	David Burnett (VIC)	\$8	29.95		
7	Xylia Allen	Jenny Hunt (VIC)	\$2.30	29.81		
8	Captain Clarrie	Peter Ruetschi	\$15	30.11		
19/2	Rose Of Galo (RES)	Alby Kennewell	RES			
10	Tee Brady (RES)	Tom Tzouvelis	RES			

Local expert's selections for the final are as follows.

Paul Dolan	John Brasch
1 st Xylia Allen	1 st Xylia Allen
2 nd Tomac Bale	2 nd Tomac Bale
3 rd Kiss Me Ketut	3 rd Kiss Me Ketut

<u>Luke Gatehouse</u> 1st Tomac Bale 2nd Xylia Allen 3rd Top Story



What's happening on race night?

On the night the Club will conduct a Lawn Party, plus a farewell tribute to great Queensland Champion Glen Gallon, there will plenty of photo opportunities and the champ will lead the Cup field to the boxes. There will be plenty of prizes and giveaways for those attending on course.

Also on the night the club have in attendance the Movember Foundation, raising money and awareness for Prostate Cancer research and other men's health issues. The best moustache on course will be judged and the winner awarded the title of Mr Movember. Mr Movember will win cash and other great prizes and will have the opportunity to lead out the field for the Group 1 SKY Racing Brisbane Cup Final.

The club on behalf of the charity will be conducting a number of raffles and auctions on the night



Last Year's winner Got A Moment with owner Di Buxton, granddaughter Rebecca, handler Ben Thompson after her Brisbane Cup Triumph (Pic David Brasch)

The Brisbane Cup has had a few name changes when it was first run in 1972 and won by Victorian Garron Court the race was known as the Gabba Sprint Championship. It remain that name until 1976. It was then called the Brisbane Cup from 1977 until 1981 changed in 1982 to be known as the Coca-Cola Cup until 1999 when it changed back to the Brisbane Cup. The race was conducted at the Gabba until the track closed in 1992 and since has been staged at Albion Park. Listed below is the Honour Roll containing some of the champion greyhounds among the past winners.

COCA-COLA CUP WINNERS					
GABBA 558M					
1972	GARRON COURT (VIC)	33.67			
1973	TOP SIMBI	32.85			
1974	MISTER OOLLEE	32.90			
1975	ALPHA BRAVA (NSW)	32.70			
1976	CLOVER DUKE (NSW)	32.74			
1977	REBEL ATTACK	32.61			
1978	YOUNG BREEZE (NSW)	33.31			
1979	ACCLAIM STAR (NSW)	32.73			
1980	GENERAL JEFF (NSW)	32.72			
1981	PICTURE THIS (VIC)	32.95			
1982	PETER GLIDER (NSW)	32.89			
1983	ACACIA PARK (NSW)	32.58			
1984	NATIONAL LASS (NSW)	32.60			
1985	SUPER MAX (VIC)	32.74			
1986	PRETTY FEARLESS	32.69			
1987	WHIP TIP (NSW)	32.64			
1988	DANCING GAMBLE	32.57			
1989	GOLDEN FOX (NSW)	32.63			
1990	WHISKY BALE (NSW)	32.99			
1991	NO IT'S NOT - Group 1	32.32			
1992	WHITE COONOWRIN - Group 1	32.83			

	BRISBANE CUP WINNERS				
ALBION PARK 520M					
1993	STAR TITLE (NSW)	30.34	Grp 1		
1994	TOSS THE TEDDY	30.50	Grp 1		
1995	FLYING AMY	29.89	Grp 1		
1996	SILVER PAGEANT	30.46	Grp 1		
1997	BARRIO BABE	30.24	Grp 1		
1998	QUESTIONS (NSW)	30.21	Grp 2		
1999	BOB'S ONE (NSW)	30.02	Grp 1		
2000	KANTARN BALE (VIC)	30.05	Grp 1		
2001	TRICKY CREEK	29.97	Grp 1		
2002	TRICKY CREEK	30.15	Grp 1		
2003	BOGIE LEIGH	29.85	Grp 1		
2004	MALFOY	30.16	Grp 1		
2005	POROROCA	29.66	Grp 1		
2006	PURE BURST	30.10	Grp 1		
2007	UNO JOEL	30.39	Grp 1		
2008	EL GALO	29.84	Grp 1		
2009	MR METZ	30.11	Grp 1		
2010	HE KNOWS UNO (NSW)	30.00	Grp 1		
2011	GLEN GALLON	30.10	Grp 1		
2012	GOT A MOMENT	29.85	Grp 1		

This event was known and sponsored by the following:-

1972 - 1999 - Coca-Cola Cup

2000 - Brisbane Cup



Superstar New South Wales owned Victorian trained Xylia Allen performed another extraordinary effort to win her heat of the Brisbane Cup

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown

AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton

AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838